Colleen Gunning

Employment Information:

Job Title: Outpatient Mental Health Practitioner

Credentials: Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LICSW)


Joined: 2019
Years of Experience: 7
Services: Outpatient Therapy
Locations: Eden Prairie Clinic


Educational Information:

Undergraduate College/University: University of MN
Mpls.
Undergraduate Degree: Bachelor of Applied Studies


Graduate College/University: Augsburg College
Graduate Degree: Master of Social Work



Personal Information:

Clinical Approach:
I like to practice from a Christian-faith base, since God is the source of my strength and I feel His Holy Spirit guides me in my work with people. I feel that followers of Jesus have a big toolbox to use in addressing their challenges. If you don't want to talk about God or Jesus, I respect that. I will probably ask you about your spirituality, because I believe that a belief in a higher power can be an important asset in addressing mental health issues. I expect people to take their work in a therapy room seriously and hopefully they will be willing to do some work on their own, outside of sessions, where changes need to be made in their personal, work and community life.


Clinical Interests:
It challenges me in a good way when I work with people with trauma in their backgrounds. Big T and little t traumas affect each of us differently. It's satisfying to see people feeling free from the grip that trauma can have on their lives. Substance abuse disorders are also a good challenge for me. I like to see people willing to put in the hard work to become sober and clean which means they can repair the relationships that have been broken by addiction. Addiction, I believe, affects most every family and if I can help someone start a ripple affect of recovery from a substance or food addiction, then I'm in. I admire people who come to therapy and who are serious about changing the person they have the most influence over: themselves. I enjoy working with people who have difficulties with anxiety and depression because there is so much we know now about neuroscience and how the brain works. There are many good resources for couples, also, whether or not they are married. Good relational skills can also extend to other significant people in our lives, too. I work with adults, ages 19 to 105, individuals and couples.


Personal Interests:
I enjoy kayaking with friends and family. I like hiking and being outside, especially in the spring, summer and fall. We have a dog now, and he is the reason I got through last winter; I became acclimated to the nastiest weather, especially the melted and slippery and icy sidewalks, because I was out walking him most of those mornings. I also enjoy hanging out with our mischievous cat, who was born outside up north, and who likes to be outside to explore our backyard, and who can stand up to our dog and wrestle him, if necessary.


Behavioral Health Certifications:
EMDR (Eye Movement Desensitization Reprocessing) Trained


ART (Accelerated Resolution Therapy


also uses eye movements) Trained